Geelong Veteran Cycling
Rory Wilson Appeal Race
In support of the Rory Wilson Appeal The Geelong Veteran Cycling Club held a 49 kilometre handicap race on Sunday August 17. Thirty riders raced 49 kilometres out and back both Blackgate and Forest roads at Paraparap. Mild but cloudy conditions greeted the starters as the limit riders of Ian Sumner and Brian Long set out 26 minutes before the scratch group of Rick Buckwell, Dave Warren, Steve Young, Steven Richards, Andrew Goodwin and Jeff Miller. The other five groups were sent off at intervals between these two groups. Many of these groups had come together by the turnaround in Forest road with the scratch riders forming the main peloton with the 3 and 7 minute groups, the 10½ and the 13½ minute groups had combined as a chasing group and John Bell had caught the limit riders to form the leading trio. This trio held off the field, just, with John Bell having started 4 minutes behind the limit riders, riding off the front in Hendy Main road to record a strong win. The combined 10½ and 13½ minute groups powered by Joe Gulino and Dave Phillips narrowly held off the rampaging peloton to take the minor placings. Rick Buckwell took out fastest time of 1:13:10 Ave 40.2.
1.J.Bell 1:32:24 Ave 31.9, 2.B.Long, 3.I.Sumner, 4.P.Bird, 5.J.Hilsdon, 6.B.Clay, 7.J.Gulino, 8.D.Phillips, 9.J.Knott, 10.R.West.

Entry fees, prize money and donations totalling $858 were raised in support of the Rory Wilson Future Fund.
Next Sunday’s race is a 60 kilometre handicap at Paraparap.