Near perfect conditions met the 56 riders (21 from GSCC) for the 2015 running of the Red Rock Classic

The lone limit rider headed off followed by 5 bunches, with scratch starting 35 minutes later.

Under the calm conditions the pace was on within all groups.

As the race concluded most of the competitors found themselves coming together on the final climb.

Having broken clear of his bunch Geelong’s Rob Nicholls climbed strongly to take the prestigious win.

Warrnambool’s Peter Rauert, from second scratch, finished strongly for second, just missing the win by 20 metres.

GSCC capped off a great day with Paul Bubb finishing in third place and John Bell fourth.

After leading the scratch bunch over most of the days climbs, Andrew Goodwin was narrowly pipped for fastest time by Colac’s Tony Luppino, a mere 33 seconds behind the winner.

Congratulations to everyone who competed and to the Colac Veteran Cycling Club on another successfully running of this fantastic event.

1st Rob Nicholls (10.00) Geelong

2ndPeter Rauert (3.30) Warrnambool

3rd Paul Bubb (16.00) Geelong

4th John Bell (22.00) Geelong

5th John Pearson (3.30) Warrnambool

6th Heather Hamling (5.30) Colac

7th Jeff McLean (3.30) Warrnambool

8th Mark Purdie (3.30) Colac

9th Clive Coomber (5.30) Warrnambool

10th David Rae (10.00) Warrnambool

Fastest Time: Tony Luppino (scratch) Colac 39.7kph