The Melbourne Cup on wheels is arguably the biggest race on the Supervets calendar. This year was no exception with 48 riders from Geelong, Colac, Ballarat and Warrnambool racing 37km over 3 laps of the Paraparap Hendy Main road circuit. A strong westerly wind favoured the back markers to get up for the win, but John Watson riding off the 23 minute second limit mark rode an exceptionally strong race to hold of the stampeding scratch group. John had set out with co-markers Ralph Edwards and Sue Cox but proved too strong for them, riding the final two laps on his own to record a popular win for the 77 year old Supervet. At the back of the race it had taken 2 laps for the four man scratch group of Xavier Coppock, Nick Kennedy, Matt McDonough and Steve Young to catch the combined 8 man 1½ minute group and 7 man 3 minute group, but when they did it formed a large dangerous high speed train which was only slowed when two near crashes were avoided. With the 5 minute and 7½ being caught the final trip up misery lane, the desperate sprint to the line began at the chicane with Mathew Bowman leading out and Kane Airey overhauling him only to be pipped on the line by Nick Kennedy with Steve Young close behind. But their desperate sprint was all in vain as the gritty John Watson held on by 17 seconds to record a great race win. Nick Kennedy from Colac recorded the fastest time ever for the circuit of 54 minutes 56 seconds.
1.John Watson (23min1:17:39 Ave 28.6), 2.Nick Kennedy (Colac scratch 54:56 Ave 40.4) 3. K.Airey (3 min) 4. S.Young (scratch) 5. D.Warren (1½ min) 6. J.Miller (1½ min) 7. Anthony Seipolt (1½ min) 8. Neil Maurer (5 min) 9. Mark Purdie (Colac 1½ min) 10. Nick Brown (Colac 1½ min)