A strong field of riders contested three laps of the Paraparap circuit. The day was breezy from the east and troublesome on other legs of the circuit. Once more there were visitors from Ballarat who pleasingly boosted the fields competition. The field was led away by the twenty minute group of Ray Hodgson, Brian Farrell and Dale Jennings, leaving a nine minute gap to Ross West, John Bell and Mel White. The pace was on from the start and the eleven minute bunch led by John Bell was desperate to make up the large gap. Meanwhile Gordon Spargo and Ray Clifford picked up some of the out-markers early in the third lap when Richard Buckwell rejoined the leaders after the out-markers had been consumed. The back-markers meanwhile made time on the middle group and formed an attack on the leaders led by John Bell. John Bell flexed his strength on Forest Road in the last lap breaking from the bunch and leading down Grays Road. He was reunited with the chasers on Hendy Main Road and this group held together until the last few kilometres when John Bell broke away once more leading the bunch to the finish line. Gordon Spargo and Richard Buckwell were unable to head the leader and a challenge from the scratchmen David Pike and Nick Brown was unsuccessful.

Results: 1. J Bell, 2. G Spargo, 3. R Buckwell, 4. R Clifford, 5. R Hodgson, 6. R West, 7. D Pike, 8. N Brown.

Fastest time: D Pike – 61.10, averaging 36.8 kilometres per hour

Next week’s race will be a handicap event over three laps. Entries by 9.30 please.

Results of Wednesday January 21: 1. David Pike and Nick Brown, 3. B McConnell, 4. B Clay, 5. L Fitzsimons, 6. C Colley, 7. T Robinson. 8. J Bell.