On Wednesday 4 February once again a strong field of riders crossed the start line at Paraparap. The weather was mixed with a strong south easterly with patchy showers. The field was led away by Ray Hodgson, Brian Farrell, Dale Jennings, and Andrew Kennon with the following pair of Mel White and John Watson back five minutes. The out-markers made good time and were not caught until the final lap when a stronger group of riders from the middle marks began to influence the outcome of the race. Richard Buckwell, Jeremy Tatchell and Tony Spark featured in a mid race challenge supported by Ian Sumner, Barry Primmer and Terry Robinson. This group overtook the out-markers in the last lap. There efforts were in vain however, as the back-markers took control in the closing stages, crossing the line and filling the first four places. David Pike proved too strong and rode a 1.00.49 high performance race considering the blustery conditions.

Results: 1. D Pike, 2. N Brown, 3. C Judd, 4. B McConnell, 5. R Buckwell, 6. P Ladd, 7. J Tatchell, 8. T Spark.

Fastest time: D Pike – 1.00.49. Average of 37 kph.