Sunday May 3 saw 48 rides take to the roads around Paraparap for a 52km handicap race which included 3 laps of the Hendy Main road circuit and a journey out Nobles road with a diversion to the top of the rise in Layard road returning to the finish in Larcombes road. Conditions were ideal with a light south westerly wind and a mild temperature. Mother nature threw in some drizzle mid race just to make things interesting.
The 30 minute limit riders revelled in the conditions building a commanding lead only to be disqualified for sitting on bunches which had begun more than a lap behind them. This set up the 20 minute second limit bunch for a hard fought win. Driving a consistently high pace Andrew Booth, aggregate leader John Bell and Ray Clifford had dropped, before Nobles road, their co-markers of Ross West, Chris Shay and Terry Robinson. Andrew, John and Ray crossed the finish line, in that order, almost two minutes ahead of the scratch riders.
The scratch group had an eventful day quickly reeling in the 3 minute group after the first lap but while chasing down the 6 minute group, at the chicane on the last lap, a touch of wheels took down Brad Haskett and Jeff Miller, thankfully neither was seriously hurt. This slowed their momentum allowing a big group to form with riders from the 8½ and six minute groups to join the scratch and second scratch riders. Even with tough climbs up Nobles and Layard roads this large bunch was unable to catch the leaders. Scratchman Anthony Seipolt won the bunch sprint to take out fastest time.
1. A.Booth 20min (1:38:55 Ave 31.5km/h) 2. J.Bell 20min 3. R.Clifford 20min 4. A.Seipolt scratch (1:19:45 Ave 39km/h) 5. H. Lang scratch 6. D.Pike scratch 7. N.Ashton scratch 8. N.Maurer 3 min 9. P.Tehan 6min 10. V.Mason 8½ min.