James Stuart

Name: James Stuart

Where were you born: Werribee, Victoria.

Occupation: Group Sales Manager Star Weekly Group

Family: Wife Nina & daughter Sienna.

Favourite Sporting Teams: Richmond Football Club, Green Edge & Australian Cricket.

Favourite Athletes: Marcel Kittel & Fabian Cancellara (Sparticus).

Favourite Movies: Mad Max, Goodfellas & Soprano’s (TV series).

Favourite Music: The Pixis, Nirvana, Nick Cave & Punk Rock.

Favourite Food: All seafood, peking duck & paella.

Childhood Ambition: Play for Australia.

Hobbies: Gardening, Cycling, Cooking & Fishing.


How long have you been riding? Ten years after a fifteen year lay off.

When did you start racing? Eight years ago with Footscray CC.

What other sports have you been involved in? Cricket, Basketball & Football.

Age Group and Handicap mark – 43 years old normally a middle marker.


Why did you join the club? Dad told me about the club, the family used to holiday in Anglesea each year.

Do you have any goals to achieve? More consistency in racing, Camperdown to Warrnambool podium?

Your greatest racing achievement? First road race win at Footscray CC, second Frank O’Brien Handicap & 2009 Geelong Open win.

Riding experiences:

Best? Riding and racing with my Dad who is 77 years. Good memories and many laughs.

Worst? Fall during Footscray handicap Kirksbridge course.

What’s your favourite training or social ride? Williamstown loop.

How often do you ride?  Not much lately, twice a week at best.

Equipment: Ergo trainer built by Vern Smith, Sworks shoes, Giro Helmet which meets Australian standards!

Race Bike: Bianchi Sempre, Ultegra Groupset & Durace wheelset.

Training Bike: Giant TCR, Ultegra Groupset & Mavic Ksyrium wheelset.

Other Bikes: Dads 1950’s Malvern 5 Star (Track Bike) fully restored as a single speed.

Dream Bike: Binachi Oltre, Parlee or a Baum.