At the recent AGM held on the 11 December 2016 the members of the GSCC elected a new committee and with a new president for the next 12 months.  The club would like to congratulate Vincent Haveaux on his election as president and his fellow committee members.

In the last three years under the guidance and dedication from Kane Airey the club membership has grown from 120 to 180 members with an average attendance of 40 riders per race for the 2016 season. In addition to the new pergola and solar power to the amenities at the Paraparap club rooms the racing highlights for the year was 89 riders for the new rider day, 120 riders for the Geelong open and 85 riders for the Age group championships. With regular numbers like this each week it strengthens the case for the club to purchase an electronic timing system to ensure accuracy of results and rider race day administration

We look forward to Vincent and committee to carrying on the good work done in recent times and make it attractive for riders to join in and participate in competitive but welcoming cycling.

To view the 2017 committee click here

Individual awards for the club in 2016

Ray Aldridge aggregate – 1st Josh Williams, 2nd John Bell, 3rd Gavin Gamble & Robbie Southern

Super vets aggregate – Mandy Hosking

VVCC aggregate winner – Brian Long

Most Improved rider – Robbie Southern

Camperdown to Warrnambool – 1st Jamie Robinson

South Pacific Veterans Cycling Championships 2016

Results Graded Road Race
Event First Place
A Grade Tim Bennett (GSC)
D Grade Vincent Haveaux (GSC)
Men’s 300m Sprint
Event First Place
55-59 Vincent Haveaux
80-84 Brian Long

Mens Time Trial
Event First Place
35-39 Daryl Burns
70-74 Doug Barrett
75-79 William McConnell
85+ John Randall

Colac Vets Crowe Horwath 67km Open – 1st Peter Wynne

Central Vets O’Brien Contracting 64.5km Open – 1st Brian Long