Scott Riddell outsprinted forty riders to take out the VVCC Geelong Veteran Cycling Open at Paraparap on Sunday October 5th. In the finish Scott, from the Northern Cycling, was too strong for Geelong’s Peter Wynne and Peter Livitsanis from Eureka Veterans. Scott rode with the nine minute group who proved to be the strongest group on the day, taking the lead less than 2000 metres from the finish.

Over one hundred riders. mild temperatures and a moderate south westerly breeze produced some very fast racing over the demanding 5 lap 61km course. The stronger groups were the middle mark groups from 9 to 16½ minutes. Earlier in the race the 9 minute group had caught the 11 minute group and the 14 minute group had rounded up the 16½ minute group on the third lap. These two groups came together on “Misery Lane” on the last lap, just managing to negotiate the chicane into Larcombes road where the riders then spread out across the road to contest the finish. Geelong riders filled eight of the first twenty placings.

Darren Roberts riding off scratch took out fastest time a minute fifteen behind his winning fellow Northern Cycling rider. Darren’s time was 1:29:06 at an average of 40.77 km/hr.

Results VVCC Geelong Open

1. Scott Riddell Northern 9min

2. Peter Wynne Geelong 16:30min

3. Peter Livitsanis Eureka 9min

4. Scott Denno Eureka 9min

5. Simon Hall Hume 11min

6. David Rae Warrnambool 9min

7. Brad Eppingstall Eureka 16:30min

8. Chris Fenech Geelong 11min

9. Barry Clay Geelong 11min

10. Mandy Hosking Geelong 16:30min

Thanks and congratulations to all participants and special thanks to everyone who volunteered in the organising and on the day running of the event.

The GVCC committee and club would also like to thank the race sponsors for their generous support:

Layard Park Investments

Brown Magpie Wines

Wild Cards & Gifts

Best Western Hotels


Video of the race is available via Youtube

Thanks to Di Howden Photography for the below photo’s (more via the GVCC Facebook page)

GO20 GO16 GO15 GO13 GO11 GO10 GO08 GO07 GO06 GO05 GO04 GO03 GO02 GO01