Geelong Veteran Cycling Club

23-11-14 Age Group Championships 2014


A fantastic sunny morning with slight swirling winds was met by a good field of riders competing in the highly sought after GVCC age group championships. This race has a very long history with the club and all the race winners and competitors are congratulated for participating.

(35-39) 49km

While being the only rider in his age group, new rider Vincent Trotter had a good solid hit out, well done.

(40-44) 49km 1.24.24

Kane Airey and Shane Korth kept the pace quite solid for the whole race swapping turns with a few good efforts. Kane was a sitting duck leading Shane through most of the last lap into the sprint with Shane getting the win in a tight sprint by a tyre.

(45-49) 49km 1:19.30

Five strong riders had a great race watching each other quite closely and also not letting the most experienced rider Jeff Miller get away. Tony French sprinted well at the finish to take a great win.

1st Tony French, 2nd Andrew Baker, 3rd Jeff Miller.

Other riders: Frank Gasperic, Attila Harangozo.

(50-54) 49km 1:25.07

In another close and watchful race these five riders held a great solid pace to make a very close sprint finish by the whole group. David Spence (birthday boy) stretched out the group in the last few kilometres and then David just beating Chris Fenech in a hard fought long sprint to the line with the others not far behind.

1st David Spence, 2nd Chris Fenech, 3rd Brian Weppner.

Other riders: Joe Gulino, Johnny Parrello

(55-59) 49km1:22.48

Nick Oakley, Marcuss Coppock and Vic Mason had a great race with no one getting away. Nick won in a good sprint over Marcus and Vic.

(60-64) 39km 1:10.18

These guys were over watchful with any surge in pace shut down very quickly. Speed down Grays road dropped to a walking pace as riders fought for wheels. Phil Preston was the only rider to put a gap on the group but when Paul Bird joined him the group shut it down for a sprint finish with David Pike too strong with a close tussle for second place.

1st David Pike, 2nd Carl Judd. 3rd Paul Bird

Other riders: Peter Ladd, Phillip Preston

(65-69) 39km 1:14.23

This group stayed together for the whole race swapping turns with some solid efforts to test the legs of all involved with a few watchful eyes. Colin Hooper finished the strongest winning the group sprint.

1st Colin Hooper, 2nd Barry Clay, 3rd John Bell

Other Riders: Ross West, Terry Robinson

(70-74) 39km 1:06.02

1st Robert Nicholls, 2nd David Phillips. 3rd Dennis Sonogan

(75-79) 39km 1:06.00

After Don Stuart had trouble starting and getting his shoe clipped in this race between these two was over quite quickly. Well done to William for taking the fastest time over this distance and to Don for finishing his long solo effort.

1st William McConnell, 2nd Don Stuart

Thanks again to all the marshals, race referee and time keeper for another well organised and safe race. Next Sunday 30th is the Jack Griffin race, 10am start. Geelong members please bring a plate of sandwiches or cakes. Due to an expected large field all entries to Dave Robinson by Friday night please.

Thanks Rob for the great photo from 1980? Bill Mantova and Rob Nicholls.